Item 1 of 4

Available for rent

15'

Peru, 2020

Production : Zuperhéroes Comunicación Alternativa

Spanish

French, English


Best International Short Film 2021 - Cinéma sous les étoiles, Montreal


Portrait



Synopsis


Jaime Estrada is the last artisanal fisherman in La Ramada cove, one of the most important ports of ancient Peru, with abundant flora and fauna. The beaches of northern Peru are disappearing due to coastal erosion, climate change and urban sprawl. Don Jaime is the guardian of La Ramada and the traditional techniques used by the fishermen of this area as many as two thousand years ago. Currently that beautiful beach exists only in his memory.

A word from Tënk


A landscape once rich in fauna and flora.

 

A beach engulfed by coastal erosion.

 

A beach deserted by the seaweed that used to dance there; few remain, reminiscent of their vanished counterparts.

 

A beach still inhabited, however, by the fisherman Jaime Estrada, who testifies to a bygone era. Resident of the coast, alone by the sea, the old fisherman does not fear solitude; protected by He who lives up above.

 

One wonders if the little chapel in the background is his alone, if it is bells or music that one perceives, the song of the waves in which he swims in order to fish or the rustle of the plastic bags upon which he walks. The human garbage is transformed into jewels that adorn his humble home.

 

This is not the only beach that is disappearing, the scourge is global and their erosion is unsettling. The means to protect the coasts do exist, it is just a matter of starting the machine, although implementation is complex, especially in countries whose economies depend upon seaside tourism.

 

A short narrated by nature itself, accompanied by the stories of the old fisherman, that divide our attention in two between the fascinating life of this man and that of the troubled state of his (and all of our) environment.

 

This documentary won the Best International Short Film Award from Cinéma sous les étoiles in 2021.

 

 

Gabrielle Ouimet
Tënk's Artistic Director

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Disponible en location

15'

Pérou, 2020

Production : Zuperhéroes Comunicación Alternativa

Espagnol

Français, Anglais


Prix Meilleur Court Métrage International 2021 - Cinéma sous les étoiles, Montréal


Portrait



Résumé


Jaime Estrada est le dernier pêcheur artisanal de la crique de La Ramada, l’un des ports les plus importants de l’ancien Pérou, avec une flore et une faune abondantes. Les plages du nord du Pérou disparaissent en raison de l’érosion côtière, du changement climatique et de l’étalement urbain. Don Jaime est le gardien de La Ramada et des techniques traditionnelles utilisées par les pêcheurs de cette région il y a deux mille ans. Actuellement, cette belle plage n’existe que dans sa mémoire.

L'avis de Tënk


Un paysage autrefois riche en faune et en flore.

 

Une plage engloutie par l’érosion côtière.

 

Une plage désertée par les algues qui anciennement y dansaient : seules quelques-unes restent, évoquant leurs semblables disparues.

 

Une plage encore habitée néanmoins, par le pêcheur Jaime Estrada, lui qui nous témoigne d’une époque révolue. Résidant de la côte, seul en bord de mer, le vieux pêcheur ne craint en rien la solitude; protégé par celui qui réside là-haut.

 

On se demande si la petite chapelle en arrière-plan n’est qu’à lui; s’il s’agit de cloches ou de musique que l’on perçoit; du chant des vagues dans lesquelles il baigne pour pêcher ou du bruissement des sacs de plastique sur lesquels il marche. Et puis les déchets humains se transforment en joyaux qui ornent son humble logis.

 

Là n’est pas la seule plage en train de disparaître, le fléau est mondial et leur érosion préoccupante. Les moyens de protection des côtes existent bel et bien, il suffit d’enclencher la machine, quoique leur mise en œuvre est complexe, surtout dans les pays dont l’économie repose sur le tourisme balnéaire.

 

Un court métrage narré par la nature elle-même, accompagné des récits du vieux pêcheur, qui nous divise l’attention entre deux : la vie de l’homme qui fascine et celle de l’environnement qui inquiète.

 

Le documentaire est présenté dans le cadre de l’octroi du Prix du Meilleur Court Métrage International décerné par Cinéma sous les étoiles en 2021.

 

Gabrielle Ouimet
Directrice artistique de Tënk

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4