Item 1 of 4

Available for rent

73'

Quebec, 2009

Production : nihilproductions

French

English


Cannes Film Festival - Directors' Fortnight, Locarno Film Festival, TIFF - Toronto International Film Festival, Filmfest Hamburg, Göteborg Film Festival


Portrait



Synopsis


Jean-Paul Colmor is 74 years old. After an accident, he took an early retirement and has been collecting cars, wrecks, and junk for the last 40 years. Living among tons and tons of debris, he quietly works all day on his unthinkable belongings, furnishing and dealing car parts to mechanics and other iron afficionados. One day, four intruders visit Colmor in search of a corner of twisted paradise. Carcasses uses documentary and fictitious elements to try to get at the soul of an unthinkable place.

A word from Tënk


From the outside: a scrap metal cemetery; from the inside: a columbarium of finds unearthed by world class flea market trawler, collector Jean-Paul Colmor. Car skeletons and reanimated relics make up his home, an immeasurable library of memories, a most colourful material poetics. Bogged down and blissful in his baroque environment, Colmor daily recoups and discards old cars, all the while engaging in learning the Spanish language.
Reticent towards any form of convention, Denis Côté exhibits and invents a world in which protagonists conceived of and named as marginal take center stage. His film has an unusual structure, divided into two parts: first, an observational documentary shot exclusively in stills; then, additionally, in full motion, an abrupt and controlled turn towards a fictional narrative wherein the protagonists, hailing from various margins of society, nonprofessional actors who in part play, in part exist, meet and struggle to find their place in this poetic landscape.


Gabrielle Ouimet
Tënk’s Artistic Director

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Disponible en location

73'

Québec, 2009

Production : nihilproductions

Français

Anglais


Portrait



Résumé


Jean-Paul Colmor entasse depuis plus de 40 ans des centaines de carcasses d’automobiles sur son terrain au bout d’un rang. Plus qu’un recycleur et revendeur de pièces de toutes sortes, Colmor habite un lieu impensable, chargé de mémoire. Chaque jour, il revisite son terrain, trimballe la ferraille, recense ses pièces et autres joyaux rouillés. Puis un jour, des inconnus sortent du bois et investissent les lieux. Eux aussi, ils voudraient bien partager un peu de la solitude et de la marginalité excentrique de Jean-Paul.

L'avis de Tënk


À l’extérieur : un cimetière de trophées de ferraille. À l’intérieur : un columbarium de trouvailles dénichées par le professionnel du monde des puces et de la récupération : le collectionneur Jean-Paul Colmor. Les reliques de seconde vie et les ossatures de char font de son chez-soi une bibliothèque mémorielle sans mesure; une poésie matérielle des plus bigarrées. Embourbé et heureux dans son environnement baroque, Colmor récupère et renippe quotidiennement des vieux chars tout en s’adonnant à l’apprentissage de l’espagnol.

Réticent à toute forme de convention, Denis Côté exhibe et invente un monde où des protagonistes qu’il conçoit et nomme comme marginaux forment le noyau dur. Son film revêt une structure inhabituelle scindée en deux parties. D’abord un documentaire d’observation exclusivement tourné en plans fixes, et puis, en milieu de parcours, un virage abrupt et maîtrisé vers une trame narrative fictionnelle où les protagonistes des différentes marginalités, ces acteur.trice.s non professionnel.le.s qui en partie jouent, en partie sont, se rencontrent et luttent pour avoir leur place dans ce lieu poétique. 
L’approche de la marginalité demande une série de considérations éthiques, mais aussi une réévaluation fondamentale de la notion : depuis quels yeux convient-il de raconter la marginalité d’une personne? Et puis qu’est-ce donc que la marginalité? Colmor, en ce qui le concerne, ne doute de rien: « C’est vrai que je suis fou, mais c’est agréable d’être fou dans ces conditions-là. »


Gabrielle Ouimet
Directrice artistique de Tënk

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4