Item 1 of 4

Archive

75'

Quebec, 2015

Production : Coop Vidéo

Programmed by Virginie Dubois

French, English, Portuguese

English


Sélection - RIDM 2015


Mondes parallèles



Synopsis


Eric is working his way around the world crewing on ships. He seems to be living the life he’s always dreamed of until he gets arrested in Brazil and awaits deportation to Canada. Between calls to the embassy, the unexpected meddlings of a stranger seeking to incriminate him, and breaking the news to distraught parents, Éric’s sister, filmmaker André-Line Beauparlant, gradually pierces the mystery surrounding her brother, a man of prodigious imagination, who has mastered the art of deception as an ultimate way of life.

A word from Tënk


Well-known for her intimate films that lay bare the unvarnished story of her family put through the wringer of inherited poverty, hatred, violence and alcohol abuse, but also filled with love, tenderness and a sizeable dose of humour, André-Line Beauparlant brings us an unusual and meandering voyage into the world of mythomania, or pathological lying. We follow her globetrotting brother, a charming, direct, unfettered and seductive character, as he travels along the threads of his fabrications.
As many children, to avoid the daily torments of a corrosive, clamorous, if caring, clan, Eric finds refuge in a parallel world, one he built from scratch and rules over, laying the scaffolding of a new personality whose multiple facets mutate and migrate with the wind. He builds and rebuilds this self according to his needs, aspirations, targets and prey. Anything to keep surviving from city to city. Anything to disappear, slip away from his duties and the lists of his ever-accumulating debts. And anything to reappear, a little farther away, with a brand-new self and a reimagined past.
Beauparlant confirms a signature style both perfectly mastered and uniquely her in this 4th feature-length documentary. Her ability to address the infinitely personal and intimate to show its infinitely universal qualities is unmatched—because every family has its own version of Pinocchio, don’t they?
And sometimes, when “life’s a bitch,” even I feel like taking a page from Eric’s book and slipping away from all the daily assaults and toxic people and disappointments that come from the illusion of a perfect life. Or—almost.

Virginie Dubois
Cinephile, first and foremost
Part-time producer

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Archive

75'

Québec, 2015

Production : Coop Vidéo

Programmé par Virginie Dubois

Français, Anglais, Portugais

Anglais


Sélection - RIDM 2015


Mondes parallèles



Résumé


Éric fait le tour du monde, il travaille sur des bateaux. Il semble vivre la vie qu’il a toujours rêvé au moment où il est emprisonné au Brésil, en attente d’une déportation au Canada. Entre les appels à l’Ambassade, l’intervention inattendue d’un inconnu qui cherche à l’incriminer et l’annonce de la nouvelle à des parents désemparés, Pinocchio perce peu à peu le mystère entourant Éric au fil de conversations, de souvenirs de voyage en Amérique du Sud et de confidences. On y découvre un homme à l’imagination prodigieuse, à la vérité trouble, à la fois charmeur et manipulateur : mon frère.

L'avis de Tënk


Reconnue pour ses œuvres intimistes qui racontent sans fard les coulisses de sa famille éprouvée par un héritage de pauvreté, de haine, de violence et d’abus d’alcool, mais également embrassée par l’amour, la tendresse et une dose d’humour, André-Line Beauparlant livre ici un voyage insolite dans les méandres de ce qu’on définit comme la mythomanie. On y suit son frère, grand séducteur, charmant personnage, frontal et sans complexe, alors qu’il sillonne la planète au fil de ses histoires inventées.
Comme beaucoup d’enfants, pour échapper aux tourments quotidiens d’un clan commotionné et corrosif bien qu’aimant, Éric se réfugie dans un monde parallèle. Ce monde, il le construit de toutes pièces, le gouverne et s’échafaude un personnage dont les multiples facettes migrent au gré des vents et marées. Il fabrique et refabrique son « moi » selon ses besoins, ses aspirations, ses cibles et ses proies. Tout pour survivre de ville en ville. Tout pour disparaître, se soustraire à ses dus et son ardoise dont les dettes ne cessent de s’additionner. Et tout pour réapparaître, un peu plus loin, sous une enveloppe réinventée et un passé revisité.
Beauparlant confirme dans ce 4e long métrage documentaire une signature aussi singulière que parfaitement maîtrisée. Cette capacité à aborder l’infiniment personnel et intime au profit de l’infiniment universel, parce qu’en chacune de nos familles, il existe quelque part un Pinocchio.
Et par moment, quand «life’s a bitch», j’avoue que des fois, moi aussi, j’ai envie de faire comme Éric pour échapper aux agressions du quotidien, aux êtres toxiques et aux déconvenues liées aux illusions d’une vie parfaite, ou presque.

Virginie Dubois
Cinéphile, d’abord et avant tout
Productrice à temps perdu

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4