Item 1 of 4

Archive

91'

Germany, 2011

Production : HUPE film

Programmed by Alain Deneault

German

French, English


Le désordre du monde



Synopsis


Work Hard, Play Hard is a documentary about modern management methods and the redesign of work spaces. To all apparences, teleworking, open spaces and flexible work hours are leading to more flexibility, always with an eye toward greater productivity. The corporation human resources and the architects , who design the office buildings, are optimistic. Offices now look like comfortable hotel lobbies. The human being at work is thus in the matrix of a total work world.

A word from Tënk


We are witnessing the creation of a work apparatus. Management is perceived reflexively; we see how the artisans of an architectural firm work, or how the heads of the cruelly named “human resources” department organize the professional lives of enormous multi-national corporations. The rule of thumb? Construct a building and administer teams that will take inspiration from established key words: dynamism, vitality, joy, creativity, team spirit, effectiveness, improvement and speed. You must make workers forget that they are working, make their workspace as familiar as their kitchens…
Everything is built to foster social interaction, because management theories prove that 80% of creativity in business contexts comes from chance encounters, informal discussions, ideas that are snatched out of thin air when rounding the corner from an insignificant exchange. Every square foot, the designer tells us, must reflect this wishful thinking: make the workplace nicer, foster creativity, meld it into nature.
The cognitive dissonance is all-encompassing. It might as well be a Magritte painting whose words are superimposed over images that bear no relation to the vocabulary. What about nature? This place is colder than a mall, life is struggling to reassert itself, we’re becoming plastic figurines in a maquette, pixels in a digital blueprint. This place echoes with the schizophrenic directive to be more spontaneous! Teamwork is coerced while feigning non-compulsory status. Informal dynamics we’re told to incite are quartered in real time by oppressive performance statistics. The most trivial of operations is conceptualized in a quasi-liturgical argot.
One more symbol of this worldwide institutional perversion? Managerial English vocabulary abounds. The words “team”, “culture”, “spirit”, are all necessarily employed in English among a German-speaking staff, because pseudo-intimacy is best delivered in a foreign language. This is emblematic of what professional life has become: no longer services rendered by a reasonably well-paid proletariat renting out their abilities amidst an alienated workforce, but an ethos that they agree to adopt and develop full-bore, trading their full personhood for capital.
Management makes sure to organize inquisitorial sessions, specifically “intrusive.” The goal is literally to remote-control the worker’s brain. Employees feel that work is “just like home” because nothing feels like home. Some firms deny them their own workspace, requiring them to continuously reserve temporary spaces in the building, causing them to lose their moorings. These different workspaces all “look alike” and all “make you think” of what they aren’t: your kitchen at home, your living room, an intimate workspace where you can concentrate, a café where we get brief tasks out of the way…the illusion is complete. “Viel Spaß!” the greeter at one of these businesses says to visitors she is welcoming inside for their appointments. “Have fun!”

Alain Deneault
Philosopher

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Archive

91'

Allemagne, 2011

Production : HUPE film

Programmé par Alain Deneault

Allemand

Français, Anglais


Le désordre du monde



Résumé


Work Hard, Play Hard est un documentaire sur les nouvelles pratiques de management et sur le réaménagement des espaces de travail. En apparence, le télétravail, les bureaux en espace ouvert et les horaires aménagés conduisent aujourd’hui à plus de souplesse, toujours en vue d’une meilleure productivité. Les ressources humaines des entreprises et les architectes, qui conçoivent les bâtiments du secteur tertiaire, affichent leur optimisme. Les bureaux ressemblent désormais à des lobbies d’hôtels confortables. L’être humain au travail se retrouve ainsi dans la matrice d’un monde du travail total.

L'avis de Tënk


On assiste à l’élaboration d’un dispositif de travail. Le management est perçu ici de manière réflexive. On voit comment travaillent les artisans d’un bureau d’architectes ou les responsables des cruellement nommées « ressources humaines » pour organiser la vie professionnelle des salariés de grandes multinationales. La consigne : ériger un immeuble et administrer des « teams » qui s’inspirent de mots d’ordre convenus : dynamisme, vitalité, joie, créativité, esprit d’équipe, efficacité, amélioration et rapidité. Il faut faire oublier au travailleur qu’il travaille, lui rendre le lieu de l’entreprise aussi familier que sa cuisine…
Tout est conçu pour favoriser l’entregent puisque les théories de la gestion prouvent que 80 % de la créativité en entreprise proviennent du hasard des rencontres, des discussions informelles, des idées attrapées à la volée, au détour d’un échange sans importance. Chaque mètre carré, nous dit le concepteur, doit refléter cette velléité : rendre sympa le lieu de travail, favoriser la créativité, le fondre à la nature.
Or, la dissonance cognitive est totale. Comme ces mots de vocabulaire que Magritte appose en regard de signifiés qui n’ont rien à voir. Quid de la nature ? Le lieu est plus froid qu’un centre commercial, la vie peine à reprendre ses droits, on y devient la figurine d’une maquette et le pixel d’un montage numérique. Le lieu hurle cette injonction schizophrénique : soyez spontanés ! Le travail d’équipe est coercitif sous des allures volontaires. Les rapports informels qu’on dit susciter sont quadrillés en temps réels par d’opprimants relevés de performance. L’opération la plus triviale se voit conceptualisée dans un jargon quasi liturgique.
Signe supplémentaire de cette perversion mondialement instituée : les anglicismes managériaux surabondent. Team, culture et spirit circulent nécessairement en anglais auprès d’un personnel pourtant germanique, car la pseudo intimité parle une langue étrangère. C’est emblématique de ce que la vie professionnelle devient : non plus le fait de prestations rendues par des prolétaires plus ou moins bien rétribués, louant leurs facultés et aliénant leur force de travail, mais un éthos qu’ils acceptent d’adopter et de développer de manière totale, cédant leur personne entière au capital.
La direction ne manque pas d’organiser des séances inquisitoriales nommément « intrusives ». C’est littéralement le cerveau du travailleur qu’on cherche à téléguider. Le salarié se sent alors au travail « comme chez lui » parce qu’il n’est chez lui nulle part. Certaines firmes le privent d’un espace propre, l’entraînant à réserver continuellement des espaces provisoires dans son immeuble, au point de lui faire perdre tout ancrage. Ces différents lieux de travail « ressemblent » tous et « font tous penser » à ce qu’ils ne sont pas : sa propre cuisine, son salon, un lieu de travail intime où se concentrer, un café où on expédie les affaires courantes… Le simulacre est assumé. Viel Spaß !, se doit de dire la préposée à l’accueil d’une de ces entreprises aux visiteurs qu’elle fait entrer pour un rendez-vous : « Amusez-vous bien !, have fun !.. »

Alain Deneault
Philosophe

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4