Item 1 of 4

Archive

17'

France, 1973

Production : Video Out

Programmed by Naomie Décarie-Daigneault

French

English


Échos de Mai



Synopsis


This documentary about abortion was made when it was still illegal in France. It looks at why women decide not to keep their child and how an abortion is carried out according to the Karman method. The film also shows the first women’s demonstration in favour of abortion held on November 20, 1971.

A word from Tënk


Among the many blind spots for which May ’68 (or the mythic rereading that we make of it) can be critiqued, the most critical is, without a doubt, the invisibilization of women. Women were certainly in the streets. They simply weren’t given the opportunity to speak publicly. But the spark of the feminist movement to come, which would take shape in the creation of the Women’s Liberation Movement (MLF in French) in 1970, were undeniably present. Its flames were fanned by revolutionary discourse, the movement against sexual repression taking place on university campuses, and even by the ever-present machismo that women in the ’68 movement were subjected to, leading to the creation of women’s-only groups.
In this film from Carole Roussopoulos, a leading figure in feminist film and an activist from that era, we find ourselves three years in the future, in 1971. Women have mobilized and developed their own movement objectives. Here, it’s the legalization of abortion and access to contraception for minors. Abortion was still illegal in France, but its people were beginning to freely discuss the issue, chipping away at the layers of social hypocrisy in place. In April, the Manifesto of the 343 was published, in which 343 women publicly admitted to having had abortions, in defiance of the prison time they risked for such a declaration. An unprecedented document that brings us into the heart of this revolutionary fight for a sexuality free from fear and a relationship to one’s own body as a subject. Y’a qu’à pas baiser! (“Just Keep Your Legs Closed!”) includes a scene, filmed in real time, of an aspiration abortion using the Karman method, still illegal at the time of filming. The closing chant, like a great wave that clears everything in its path, fills the viewer with all the drunken joy of reclaimed freedom. Women were standing up and the struggle was vibrant.

Naomie Décarie-Daigneault
Tënk’s Artistic Director

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Archive

17'

France, 1973

Production : Video Out

Programmé par Naomie Décarie-Daigneault

Français

Anglais


Échos de Mai



Résumé


Une femme prend la décision de ne pas garder son enfant. Le film alterne la séquence d’un avortement mené selon la méthode Karman – alors que cette pratique est encore illégale en France – et des images de la première manifestation de femmes en faveur de l’avortement et de la contraception qui a lieu à Paris le 20 novembre 1971.

L'avis de Tënk


Aux nombreux angles morts que l’on peut reprocher à Mai 68 ou à la relecture mythifiée que l’on en fait, le plus saillant est sans doute l’invisibilisation des femmes. Or, les femmes sont partout dans les rues. C’est la parole publique qui ne leur est pas donnée. Mais les germes de la lutte féministe à naître, qui se concrétisera entre autres dans la création du Mouvement de libération des femmes en 1970, sont bien là. Ils sont nourris par les discours révolutionnaires, par les luttes contre la répression sexuelle qui se mènent dans les cités universitaires, et même par le machisme ambiant auquel sont confrontées les femmes au sein de la lutte et qui les entraîne à créer des groupes non-mixtes.
Dans ce film de Carole Roussopoulos, figure clé du cinéma féministe et militant de l’époque, on est trois ans plus tard, en 1971. Les femmes se sont organisées depuis, et ont pu orchestrer leurs propres objectifs de lutte. Ici, la légalisation de l’avortement et l’accès à la contraception pour les mineures. L’avortement est encore illégal en France, mais la parole commence à se libérer et le vernis de l’hypocrisie sociale s’écaille. En avril, le manifeste des 343 est publié dans le Nouvel Observateur dans lequel 343 femmes avouent publiquement s’être fait avorter, malgré les risques d’emprisonnement encourus. Document inédit qui nous entraîne en plein cœur de cette révolution vers une sexualité libérée de la peur et un rapport de sujet à son propre corps, Y’a qu’à pas baiser ! capture en temps réel un avortement par aspiration (méthode Karman), alors toujours illégal. Le chant de la fin, comme une grande vague qui balaie tout sur son passage, donne à ressentir dans sa chair toute l’ivresse d’une liberté retrouvée. Les femmes étaient debout et la lutte était jouissive.

Naomie Décarie-Daigneault
Directrice artistique de Tënk

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4