Item 1 of 4

31 days

44'

Quebec, 1979

Production : GIV

French


Bandes de féministes



Synopsis


Through fictional reenactments and testimonies, this video demonstrates how women experience rape and all forms of aggression in the street, at home and in the workplace. It explains how fear, humiliation and frustration become part of women’s daily lives, and how all this violence against women in so many ways contributes to their overall oppression.

A word from Tënk


This major yet minimally distributed documentary is the product of a collaboration between two handheld video pioneers who worked in the collectives Vidéo Femmes (Helen Doyle), based in Québec, and Groupe Intervention Vidéo (Hélène Bourgault), based in Montréal, in the 1970s.

 

Chaperons rouges (1979) is one of Quebec’s first documentaries to address the issue of sexual violence head-on, at a time when the province was consumed with its quest for independence. An audacious film with a hybrid format split between dance performances (Christiane Viens) and gut-wrenching interviews, the two filmmakers invite us to reflect more broadly on the future of the feminist movement. Well before #MeToo, the film’s interviews reveal stories of survival and resilience that resemble the thousands of messages shared by victims on social media as part of that movement. Here, video is used rather than computer keyboards to speak to the urgency of the era and celebrate the women who rose up to break the silence.

 

 

Julia Minne
PhD student and programmer

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

30 jours

44'

Québec, 1979

Production : GIV

Français


Bandes de féministes



Résumé


Par le biais de reconstitutions fictionnelles et de témoignages, ce document vidéo démontre comment les femmes vivent le viol et toutes les formes d’agression qu’elles subissent dans la rue, dans leur foyer ou dans leur milieu de travail. Il explique comment la peur, l’humiliation et la frustration finissent par faire partie de l’univers quotidien des femmes, et comment toute cette violence, exercée de mille façons, contre les femmes contribue à leur oppression globale.

L'avis de Tënk


Ce documentaire majeur et peu diffusé aujourd’hui est le fruit d’une collaboration entre deux pionnières de la vidéo légère qui travaillèrent respectivement dans les collectifs Vidéo Femmes à Québec (Helen Doyle) et le Groupe Intervention Vidéo à Montréal (Hélène Bourgault) dans les années 1970-1980.

Réalisé en 1979, Chaperons rouges est l’un des premiers documentaires québécois à aborder frontalement les violences sexuelles dans un Québec encore absorbé par sa quête d’indépendance. Film audacieux à la forme hybride, entre performances dansées (Christiane Viens) et entrevues viscérales, les deux réalisatrices nous invitent plus largement à réfléchir au devenir de nos luttes féministes. Bien avant le mouvement #MeToo, les témoignages du film dévoilent des récits de survivance et de résilience et font écho aux milliers de messages des victimes diffusées sur nos réseaux sociaux. Ici la vidéo remplace nos claviers d’ordinateur pour saisir l’urgence d’une époque et mettre en lumière des femmes qui s’insurgent et brisent le silence.

 

 

Julia Minne
Doctorante et programmatrice

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4