Item 1 of 4

Available for rent
30 min
Quebec, 1977

Production : GIV

Programmed by Julia Minne

French

Bandes de féministes



Synopsis


This video focuses on the 2nd International Meeting of Women’s Health Centers held in Rome in 1977. Challenging the traditional medical power and its macho conception of medicine, women’s health centers report on their research and implementation of alternative practices.

A word from Tënk


A joint French and Québécois production from Dominique Barbier, Josiane Jouët, and Louise Vandelac, À notre santé proposes a collective reflection on feminist experiments in self-care. Fighting back against the repressive practices of the dominant medical community and its oppression of women’s bodies, the images and discussions raised in this film lead us once again to draw connections to the modern day. Indeed, for several years, our cameras have been trained on systemic inequality and obstetric violence enacted by poorly managed and strained health care systems, as attested by Ovidie’s most recent documentary from 2019, Tu enfanteras dans la douleur.

 

A badly needed return to the source (all the better to regain our forces), Louise Vandelac sums up the call for flourishing solidarity between international feminist movements in a few well-chosen words: “The first international meeting for women and health, held in Rome in 1976. 15 years after Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring was published, speaks to the heart of the feminist and ecological movements, their vitality and creativity that will centre the health of living spaces and living beings as a key issue for the 21st century.”

 

 

 

Julia Minne
PhD student and programmer

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

28 jours

30'

Québec, 1977

Production : GIV

Français


Bandes de féministes



Résumé


Ce vidéo s’intéresse à la 2e rencontre internationale des centres de santé pour femmes tenue à Rome en 1977. Contestant le pouvoir médical traditionnel et sa conception machiste de la médecine, les centres d’autosanté pour femmes font état de leurs recherches et de leur mise en application des pratiques alternatives.

L'avis de Tënk


Production franco-québécoise réalisée par Dominique Barbier, Josiane Jouët et Louise Vandelac, À notre santé propose une réflexion collective sur les expérimentations féministes en matière de self-care. Luttant contre les pratiques répressives d’un corps médical dominant qui opprime le corps de femmes, les images et discussions dévoilées dans ce film nous amènent une nouvelle fois à créer des liens avec notre actualité. En effet, depuis quelques années, nos caméras se sont braquées sur les inégalités systémiques et violences obstétricales engendrées par des systèmes de santé malmenés et à bout de souffle comme en témoigne le plus récent documentaire d’Ovidie (Tu enfanteras dans la douleur, 2019).

 

Comme un retour aux sources nécessaire pour mieux reprendre nos forces, la réalisatrice Louise Vandelac souligne en quelques mots l’effervescence de ces solidarités féministes internationales qui résonnent encore aujourd’hui comme un appel urgent : « La première rencontre internationale des Centres de santé pour les femmes, tenue à Rome en 1976, 15 ans après Le Printemps silencieux de Rachel Carson, témoignait au cœur de l'émergence du féminisme et de l'écologie, de la vitalité et de la créativité de ces mouvements qui feront de la santé des milieux de vie et des vivants l'un des enjeux clés du 21e siècle. »

 

 

 

Julia Minne
Doctorante et programmatrice

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4