Subscribe
Another 43 days
Trailer
Another 43 days

La libertad

Filmmaker : Laura Huertas Millán Colombia, France, 2017 PRODUCTION : Laura Huertas Millán
30'
Spanish English, French

About this film

Synopsis

Produced out of Harvard's Sensory Ethnography Lab, the film follows a group of matriarchal weavers in Mexico, whose backstrap loom – a pre-Hispanic technique preserved for centuries by Indigenous women in Mesoamerica – provides the formal structure for the film's exploration of handicrafts and their ties to freedom.

Tënk's opinion

A film of undeniable strength and gentleness. With only a few words and a few images, Laura Huertas Millan shows us how important it is to have the freedom to create, to think and to move through the world as our true selves. For some, this freedom must be expressed and lived outside of a marriage that too often entraps the individual. Beyond our protagonist’s words, limited as they are in this film, we find their actions. The act of creation. The filmmaker’s camera lingers on their movements, on their bodies and, particularly, on their hands. The creation of works of art (or of a simple meal) that makes up a part of daily life and the traditions animating it. Actions without concern for any outside observer, uncorrupted by a quest for artistic value. With its meticulous attention and a degree of tenderness, this film explores the foundations of an artistic life and reminds us that freedom is always possible.

Miryam Charles
Filmmaker

Filmmaker

Laura Huertas Millán

Laura Huertas Millán is a French-Colombian filmmaker and visual artist, whose practice stands at the intersection of cinema, contemporary art and research. Selected in cinema festivals such as the Berlinale, Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), Rotterdam International Film Festival, New York Film Festival and Cinéma du Réel, her films have earn many prizes around the world. More than twenty retrospectives and focus of her work have been organised in cinematheques such as Toronto ́s TIFF Lightbox, Harvard ́s Film Archive or Bogota ́s cinematheque, and leading film festivals as Mar del Plata and Rencontres du Documentaire de Montreal. Huertas Millán holds a practice-based PhD on “Ethnographic Fictions” developed between PSL University (SACRe program) and the Sensory Ethnography Lab (Harvard University).

Encore 43 jours

La libertad

Cinéaste : Laura Huertas Millán Colombie, France, 2017 PRODUCTION : Laura Huertas Millán
30'
Espagnol Anglais, Français

À propos de ce film

Résumé

Produit par le Harvard's Sensory Ethnography Lab, le film suit un groupe de tisserandes au Mexique, dont le tissage sur un métier à ceinture - une technique préhispanique conservée pendant des siècles par les femmes indigènes de Mésoamérique - fournit la structure formelle de l'exploration de l'artisanat et de ses liens avec la liberté.

L'avis de Tënk

Un film d’une douceur et d’une force sans équivoque. En quelques mots et en quelques images, Laura Huertas Millan nous amène à l’importance de la liberté de créer, de penser, de se mouvoir dans le monde en étant soi-même. Pour certains, cela s’exprime et se vit à l’extérieur du mariage qui peut si souvent enfermer un individu. Au-delà des mots de nos protagonistes que le film nous expose très peu au final, il y a le geste. Le geste de création. La caméra de la cinéaste s’attarde sur des mouvements, des corps et surtout des mains. La création des œuvres d’art (ou d’un simple repas) qui s’intègre au quotidien et aux traditions. Le geste sans le regard extérieur ou sans la corruption de la recherche d’une valeur artistique. Avec minutie et une certaine tendresse, le film propose l’essentiel des fondements de la vie artistique et nous rappelle que la liberté sera toujours une possibilité.

Miryam Charles
Cinéaste

Cinéaste

Laura Huertas Millán

Laura Huertas Millan est une cinéaste et artiste visuelle franco-colombienne dont la pratique se situe à l'intersection entre le cinéma, l'art contemporain et la recherche. Son œuvre cinématographique a été sélectionnée dans les plus grands festivals de cinéma, tels que la Berlinale, le Festival international du film de Toronto, le Festival du film de Locarno et Cinéma du réel. Plus d'une vingtaine de rétrospectives de son travail ont également été organisées dans le monde entier, dans des cinémathèques telles que la TIFF Lightbox de Toronto, la Harvard Film Archive ou la cinémathèque de Bogota. Huertas Millan est titulaire d'un doctorat autour de la notion de « fictions ethnographiques » développé entre l'Université PSL (programme SACRe) et le Sensory Ethnography Lab de l'Université de Harvard.