This film is
no longer available
in our catalog
Trailer
This film is
no longer available
in our catalog

Trouble Sleep

Filmmaker : Alain Kassanda France, Nigeria, 2020 PRODUCTION : Alain Kassanda
41'
English, Yoruba English, French

About this film

Synopsis

Fred, unemployed graduate like many young Nigerians, is starting a new job as a taxi driver. As for Akin, he taxes commercial vehicles for the national transport union. They both operate in the rich urban landscape of Ibadan, in which Alain Kassanda’s camera choreographs the multiplicity and perpetual power relations at play.


Special mention - Visions du Réel 2020
International Medium Length & Short Film Competition

Tënk's opinion

It’s quite a challenge to capture the vitality of a Nigerian city. It involves delving deep into the urban chaos to detect the dynamics. “A soul that does not eat pepper is a powerless soul” says the Yoruba proverb: Fred and Akin get by with odd jobs to the sound of the traffic amidst the indiscriminate violence of the class struggle. Like Fela Kuti singing the famous Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am, this film that borrows its title multiplies the close-ups and metonymies. Its Afrobeat skirts around the story to highlight the saturation and excess that regurgitate the condition of the oppressed. Pollution, asphyxia, solitude – all that’s left is to rely on God. Unless you decide to follow the programme of the revolutionary Fela: "Waking him dey find - Palaver, he go get!"

Olivier Barlet
Film critic and editor for Africultures

Filmmaker

Alain Kassanda

Programmer of an art-house cinema for five years in the suburbs of Paris, Alain Kassanda then moved to Ibadan, in southwestern Nigeria, from 2015 to 2019. Trouble Sleep, his first documentary film, is the starting point of a triptych dedicated to Ibadan.

Ce film n'est plus
disponible dans
notre programmation

Trouble Sleep

Cinéaste : Alain Kassanda France, Nigéria, 2020 PRODUCTION : Alain Kassanda
41'
Anglais, Yoruba Anglais, Français

À propos de ce film

Résumé

Fred, diplômé sans emploi comme beaucoup de jeunes Nigérians, se lance comme chauffeur de taxi. Akin, lui, taxe les véhicules commerciaux pour le syndicat national des transports. Tous deux évoluent dans le riche paysage urbain d'Ibadan, dont la caméra d'Alain Kassanda chorégraphie la multiplicité et les perpétuels rapports de force qui s'y jouent.


Mention spéciale - Visions du Réel 2020
Compétition Internationale Moyens et Courts Métrages

L'avis de Tënk

Capter la vitalité d'une ville nigériane est une gageure. Cela suppose de plonger dans ce chaos urbain pour en déceler les dynamiques. « Celui qui ne mange pas de piment n'a pas d'avenir », dit le proverbe yoruba : Fred et Akin survivent de petits boulots, au rythme du trafic et dans la sourde violence des rapports de classe. Comme Fela Kuti chantait le célèbre Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am, ce film qui lui emprunte son titre, multiplie les gros plans et les métonymies. Son afrobeat contourne l'anecdote pour jouer la saturation et le débordement qui régurgitent la condition des opprimés. Pollution, asphyxie, solitude… Il ne reste plus qu'à s'en remettre à Dieu. À moins de suivre le programme du révolutionnaire Fela : « Waking him dey find - Palaver, he go get » (en se réveillant, il trouve - palabres, il va chercher).

Olivier Barlet
Critique de cinéma et rédacteur pour Africultures

Cinéaste

Alain Kassanda

Programmateur d'une salle de cinéma d'art et d'essai durant cinq ans en banlieue parisienne, Alain Kassanda s'est ensuite installé à Ibadan, au sud-ouest du Nigéria, de 2015 à 2019. Trouble Sleep, son premier film documentaire, constitue le point de départ d'un triptyque consacré à Ibadan.