This film is
no longer available
in our catalog
Trailer
This film is
no longer available
in our catalog

Northstarling

Filmmakers : Trevor Mowchun , Daniel Gerson Canada, 2019 PRODUCTION : Daniel Gerson, Trevor Mowchun
13'
English French

About this film

Synopsis

Filmed during the cruel winter months in Winnipeg, Northstarling follows a day in the life of a woman living on the brink of poverty, the border of a great abyss where her only companions are snow crunched memories and cavity ridden buildings.

Tënk's opinion

The city streets are cold. The grim light of winter falls on desolate landscapes marked by poverty. Dilapidated buildings, cramped convenience stores, passers-by with their heads down. And yet, there’s heat to be found in this film from Trevor Mowchun and Daniel Gerson. Despite the solitude and muscle-stiffening cold, there is still life. Despite the overpowering desire to stop fighting and give up, letting the snow cover us, letting the cold take everything, time carries us to our next move and life finds a way. Friends, clients, a child: something is keeping us in balance and the next day comes, and we are still there to greet it. Another day, another fight.

Naomie Décarie-Daigneault
Tënk's Artistic Director

Filmmakers

Trevor Mowchun

Trevor Mowchun is an Assistant Professor of film studies and production at the University of Florida. He works as both a film scholar and filmmaker, exploring the philosophical dimensions of film in theoretical and creative ways. His first experimental dramatic feature film World to Come (2015) is a poetic investigation into the repressed unconscious of a religious community ravaged by tragedy. He is currently preparing his second feature called From a Great Height. The film follows a historian who goes in search of his ancestral past and utilizes techniques which seek to visualize the fantasies, omissions and emotional intensities of memory. As a film scholar, Trevor has published numerous essays on the philosophy of film.



Daniel Gerson

Gerson is a visually impaired artist from Winnipeg. Upon hearing the news that his blindness was in fact not his imagination, he quit his job in pursuit of art. He expects to learn nothing. Who needs a map anyways? His last finished film, Welcome, in 2008 won a jury special mention at Festival du Nouveau Cinema. He spent the next eight years shooting street photography, but when he received that cursed news that he was going blind, he put down his stills camera camera to make films once again. He is obsessed with memory, repetition, and the garden of Eden.

Ce contenu n'est pas disponible dans votre pays
Encore 10 jours
Bande annonce
Encore 10 jours

Northstarling

Cinéastes : Trevor Mowchun , Daniel Gerson Canada, 2019 PRODUCTION : Daniel Gerson, Trevor Mowchun
13'
Anglais Français

À propos de ce film

Résumé

Filmé durant les cruels mois d'hiver à Winnipeg, Northstarling est une journée dans la vie d'une femme vivant dans la précarité à la frontière d'un grand abîme et ayant pour seuls compagnons des souvenirs encaissés par la neige et des bâtiments creusés dans la cavité.

L'avis de Tënk

Il fait froid dans les rues de la ville. La lumière sale de l’hiver tombe sur les paysages désolés de la pauvreté. Bâtiments délabrés, dépanneurs surchargés, badauds à la mine basse. Et pourtant, il y a de la chaleur dans ce film de Trevor Mowchun et Daniel Gerson. Malgré la solitude, le corps raidi par le froid, les gestes pour se préserver. Malgré cette envie sourde d’arrêter de lutter et de se laisser couler, se laisser engloutir par la neige, laisser le froid tout engourdir. Mais le temps nous entraîne dans la prochaine action et la vie se fraie un chemin. Les amis, les clients, son enfant. Quelque chose nous maintient en équilibre et le prochain jour se lève, et nous sommes toujours là pour l’accueillir. Un autre jour de lutte.

Naomie Décarie-Daigneault
Directrice artistique de Tënk

Cinéastes

Trevor Mowchun

Trevor Mowchun est professeur adjoint en études cinématographiques et production à l'université de Floride. Il travaille à la fois comme chercheur et cinéaste, explorant les dimensions philosophiques du cinéma de manière théorique et créative. Son premier long métrage dramatique expérimental World to Come (2015) est une enquête poétique sur l'inconscient refoulé d'une communauté religieuse ravagée par une tragédie. Il prépare actuellement son deuxième long métrage, From a Great Height. Le film suit un historien qui part à la recherche de son passé ancestral et utilise des techniques qui cherchent à visualiser les fantasmes, les omissions et les intensités émotionnelles de la mémoire. En tant que spécialiste du cinéma, Trevor a publié de nombreux essais sur la philosophie du cinéma.

Daniel Gerson

Daniel Gerson est un artiste malvoyant de Winnipeg. Lorsqu'il a appris que sa cécité n'était pas le fruit de son imagination, il a quitté son emploi pour se consacrer à l'art. Il s'attend à ne rien apprendre. Qui a besoin d'une carte de toute façon ? Son dernier film, Welcome en 2008, a obtenu une mention spéciale du jury au Festival du Nouveau Cinéma. Il a passé les huit années suivantes à faire de la photographie de rue, mais lorsqu'il a reçu la nouvelle qu'il devenait aveugle, il a posé son appareil photo pour faire à nouveau des films. Il est obsédé par la mémoire, la répétition et le jardin d'Eden.