This film is
no longer available
in our catalog
Trailer
This film is
no longer available
in our catalog

Douma Underground

Filmmaker : Tim Alsiofi Lebanon, Syria, 2019 PRODUCTION : Bidayyat for Audiovisual Arts
11'
Arabic English, French

About this film

Synopsis

With the barrel bombs falling on Ghouta, civilians sought shelter in the basements of their homes. I was one of them and holding on to my camera, I tried to film what I couldn’t express in words.

Tënk's opinion

We could try to explain the geopolitical context. The tyrannical and corrupt regime of Bashar al-Assad in Syria, guilty of war crimes against its own people. The population: worn down, marked by poverty, unemployment, the repression of the Sunni majority. And of course, Daesh, who sow even more confusion in a conflict exacerbated since the 2011 uprisings. Add in foreign interests, support for the regime from Iran and Russia. American strikes against the Islamic State. There is so much to fill in before we get to the Douma bombings of the last rebel stronghold in Western Ghouta. We need to talk about the use of chemical weapons, the civilian massacres, the sarin gas, the chlorine. But what are these words worth, these explanations and geopolitical lessons, against the barbarism of these civilian attacks? Douma Underground short-circuits all of these rationalizations with its final image. After all the discourse, the analyses, the ideologies, one thing remains: bombing innocent civilians is a crime against humanity.

Naomie Décarie-Daigneault
Tënk's Artistic Director

Filmmaker

Tim Alsiofi

Born in Douma, Damascus countryside in 1994, Tim Alsiofi started studying sound engineering and music in 2009. He couldn’t complete his studies because of the blockade imposed on the city of Douma and eastern Ghouta. He was forcedly displaced in 2018. During this period, he worked as a director and a sound engineer in Russel Studio in Douma (2014-2018). He also worked as a broadcaster and reporter for several local and international radio stations.

After the beginning of his work as a field photographer in 2013, he contributed to the transfer of images from the heart of eastern Ghouta to numerous news agencies. He is a member of Sam Lenses team and Russel studio, and a founding member of the voluntary project Humanity in Syria. Tim also worked as a video photographer and director of photography in a number of short and long documentaries. Still Recording (2018) is one of his latest works. He has filmed and directed the short films Sons of War and The Flute and the Cemetery for Orient TV. In 2019, he signs Douma Underground which won a special mention for best documentary at REGARD, 2020.

Ce contenu n'est pas disponible dans votre pays
Encore 10 jours
Bande annonce
Encore 10 jours

Douma Underground

Cinéaste : Tim Alsiofi Liban, Syrie, 2019 PRODUCTION : Bidayyat for Audiovisual Arts
11'
Arabe Anglais, Français

À propos de ce film

Résumé

Alors que les bombes artisanales pleuvaient sur la Ghouta, les civils trouvaient refuge dans leurs sous-sols. J’étais parmi eux. Armé de ma caméra, j'ai tenté de filmer ce que je ne pouvais exprimer par les mots.

L'avis de Tënk

On pourrait tenter d’expliquer le contexte géopolitique. Le régime syrien tyrannique et corrompu de Bachar al-Assad, coupable de crimes de guerre contre ses propres civils. L’usure de la population, marquée par la pauvreté, le chômage, la répression de la majorité sunnite. Il faudrait également parler de Daech, qui est venu semer encore davantage de confusion dans un conflit exacerbé depuis les révoltes de 2011. Y intégrer les intérêts étrangers, l’aide de l’Iran et de la Russie apportée au régime. Les frappes américaines contre l’État islamique. Il y aurait tant à dire avant d’arriver à ces bombardements de Douma, ultime fief rebelle de la Ghouta orientale. Il faudrait rappeler les attaques chimiques, les civils massacrés, le gaz sarin, le chlore. Mais que vaudraient tous ces mots, ces explications, ces leçons géopolitiques face à la barbarie des attaques contre les civils ? Douma Underground court-circuite toutes ces rationalisations avec sa dernière image. Malgré tous les discours, les analyses, les idéologies, une chose demeure : bombarder des civils innocents est un crime contre l’humanité.

Naomie Décarie-Daigneault
Directrice artistique de Tënk

Cinéaste

Tim Alsiofi

Né à Douma, en banlieue de Damas, en 1994, Tim Alsiofi a commencé à étudier l'ingénierie du son et la musique en 2009. Il n'a pas pu terminer ses études en raison du blocus imposé à la ville de Douma et à la Ghouta orientale. Il a été déplacé de force en 2018. Pendant cette période, il a travaillé en tant que réalisateur et ingénieur du son au Russel Studio à Douma (2014-2018). Il a également travaillé en tant que reporter pour plusieurs stations de radio locales et internationales.

Il a contribué au transfert d'images de la Ghouta orientale à de nombreuses agences de presse en plus d'être membre fondateur du projet bénévole Humanity in Syria. Tim Alsiofi a également travaillé en tant que directeur de la photographie dans un certain nombre de documentaires courts et longs, dont l'acclamé Still Recording (2018). Il a réalisé les courts métrages Sons of War et The Flute and the Cemetery pour Orient TV. En 2019, il signe Douma Underground, Mention spéciale pour le prix du meilleur documentaire à l’édition 2020 du festival REGARD.