Item 1 of 4

Archive

88'

Canada, 2007

Production : Red Floor Records

Programmed by Jean-Philippe Desrochers

English

French


Arts



Synopsis


Here Is What Is is a sonic journey to the source of the art in the recording studio. It is an invitation to experience a year of creation, looking over Daniel Lanois’ shoulder. The songs featured throughout the film are true to the dedication of verite, documenting a take, live off the floor. It is a film made with the same heart and soul that every Lanois sonic project receives.

A word from Tënk


Daniel Lanois, the accomplished Hull-born Québec musician behind several popular albums, has been working in the music industry since the late 1970s. Here Is What Is is his first major film offering created with videographer Adam Vollick, with whom he continues to work today. The film depicts Lanois’ return to songwriting after the series of sound experiments—which he has every intention of continuing, by the way—that formed his 2005 instrumental album Belladonna.
Surrounded by extraordinary musicians, including drummer Brian Blade, Lanois is mainly filmed in action in the studio, either behind the mixing console (which he considers a musical instrument in itself) or his pedal steel guitar. Outside the studio walls, he develops a series of profound reflections on art and beauty with his friend and faithful accomplice Brian Eno. Vollick’s digital camera, lightweight and handheld, sticks close to the musicians as they play. The director’s manipulation of the footage, including changes in colour saturation, adds a psychedelic touch to certain scenes. Here Is What Is celebrates all the sensuality of sound, bodies, and images in movement, the ecstasy that comes from creative acts, and the beauty of musical gestures.

Jean-Philippe Desrochers
Critic

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Archive

88'

Canada, 2007

Production : Red Floor Records

Programmé par Jean-Philippe Desrochers

Anglais

Français


Arts



Résumé


Here Is What Is est un voyage sonore nous entraînant à la source de l’art dans le studio d’enregistrement. C’est une invitation à vivre une année de création à travers les yeux de Daniel Lanois. Les chansons présentées tout au long du film sont fidèles à la volonté de demeurer au plus près de la vérité, documentant les prises en direct du studio. C’est un film réalisé avec autant de cœur et d’âme que chaque projet de création sonore de Lanois.

L'avis de Tënk


Musicien accompli, réalisateur d’albums fort prisé, Daniel Lanois, né à Hull, au Québec, œuvre dans le milieu de la musique depuis la fin des années 1970. Here Is What Is est sa première offrande substantielle créée avec le vidéaste Adam Vollick, collaboration qui perdure encore aujourd’hui. Le film montre Lanois de retour à la chanson, après les explorations sonores - qu’il n’abandonnera jamais non plus - de l’album instrumental Belladonna (2005).
Entouré de musiciens extraordinaires, dont le batteur Brian Blade, Lanois est filmé surtout en studio, guitare à la main, derrière sa pedal steel guitar ou devant la console de mixage (qu’il considère comme un instrument de musique en soi). Ailleurs, il élabore, avec son ami et fidèle complice Brian Eno, une profonde réflexion sur l’art et la beauté. Légère et tenue à la main, la caméra numérique de Vollick reste près des musiciens quand ils jouent. Le réalisateur ajoute des touches de psychédélisme grâce à diverses manipulations d’images, comme le recours à la saturation des couleurs pendant certaines séquences. Here Is What Is célèbre la sensualité des sons, des corps et des images en mouvement, l’extase associée à l’acte créatif et la beauté du geste musical.

Jean-Philippe Desrochers
Critique

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4