Item 1 of 4

Available for rent

84'

Canada, 2005

Production : One Thousand Flowers

Programmed by the DOCs From the Vault jury

English

French


DOCs from the Vault



Synopsis


There is no one who has nothing to say about love. “Stalking Love” is a feature documentary in which a single camera traverses North America to peer into the hearts of individuals from all walks of life. From across Canada, the US, and Mexico, a colourful tapestry of humanity is woven. The human relationship to “love” is explored through the perspectives of a sex worker in Montreal, an unhoused man in New York City, a preacher in Savannah, a businessman in San Blas, and a myriad of others. In this dreamlike journey across the North American landscape, Stalking Love weaves together seemingly dissimilar realities by exploring an issue to which every person on earth can relate. No one can speak about love without giving themselves away. It is a property of love that it unveils the most essential in all humans. Stalking Love sings the harmony and the discord, too, between humans in our society as they muse on the topic of love.

A word from Tënk


One might be led to believe that this film is about love. Perhaps it’s the title that drops the hint.

But since love is a feeling that takes root and uproots itself only to transplant itself, a being that is neither animal nor vegetable, a microorganism that colonizes bodies and that may sometimes seem either incurable or to confer upon the body an unusual musculature–well, it is to those bodies that we must pose the questions, because in order to track down this mythical pull called love, it is necessary to scrutinize the spaces it inhabits.

This film, then, is less about love as it is about the people in whom it takes root. And since, in talking about love, people, in fact, talk about themselves, we find ourselves transported across a series of portraits, a narrative in motion, a sort of van der Keuken of contemporary America.

And it’s precisely there, before this humanistic approach that asks what is love, that we remember the construction and codes of this transcendental state.

This unpretentious, collaged work is guided by the filmmaker’s raw relationship with the documentary material and her direct approach, attuned to the array of colours of love that live in each human she encounters. The voice of the filmmaker-cum-confidante, whose presence is felt behind the camera, doesn’t hesitate to evoke her protagonists’ stories about their experiences, and with this guidance, they enter into all sorts of vulnerabilities that seem almost funnily accessible. Perhaps this is because she films them all with such simplicity: alone and disguised as travelogue.


 

 

Gabrielle Ouimet
Tënk's Artistic Director

 

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4

Disponible en location

84 min

Canada, 2005

Production : One Thousand Flowers

Programmé par le Jury de Dans les voûtes du DOC

Anglais

Français


Dans les voûtes du DOC



Résumé


Il n’y a personne qui n’ait rien à dire sur l’amour. Stalking Love est un long métrage documentaire dans lequel une caméra traverse l’Amérique du Nord pour pénétrer dans le cœur de personnes de tous les horizons. À travers le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique, une tapisserie colorée de l’humanité est tissée. La relation humaine à l’amour est explorée à travers une multitude de perspectives, allant des plus riches aux personnes en situation de précarité, des personnes âgées aux très jeunes, des travailleur.euse.s du sexe aux prêtres. Dans ce voyage onirique, Stalking Love tisse des liens entre ces réalités apparemment dissemblables en explorant une question à laquelle chaque personne sur terre peut s’identifier. Personne ne peut parler d’amour sans dévoiler ses vulnérabilités. Stalking Love chante l’harmonie et aussi, la discorde entre les humains de notre société.

L'avis de Tënk


Ce film, on le croirait sur l’amour. C’est peut-être le titre qui nous oriente dans cette direction.

 

Mais puisque l’amour est un sentiment qui s’enracine, se déracine et se transplante, un être ni animal ni végétal qui vit qui meurt, un microorganisme qui colonise les corps et qui parfois semble incurable ou leur confère une musculature inhabituelle, et bien ce sont les corps qu’il faut interroger, parce que pour traquer cette mythique attirance, il faut scruter les habitacles dans lesquels elle se confine. 

 

Ce film, donc, à ce qu’on dit, n’est pas tellement sur l’amour que sur les gens qui y prennent goût. Et puisqu’en parlant d’amour, les gens parlent d’eux même, nous voilà transporté.e.s à travers une série de portraits à la narrativité repensée, nous voilà dans un van der Keuken d'une Amérique contemporaine.

 

Et c’est précisément là, placé.e.s devant cette approche tout humanisante de ce qu’est l’amour, qu’on se rappelle que cet état transcendantal a tout d’un code et d’une construction.

 

Un rapport brut au matériau documentaire, une approche directe, une création par assemblage qui donne lieu à un film sans prétention, attentif aux couleurs que revêt l’amour chez chacun.e. La voix de la réalisatrice-confidente, dont on sent la présence derrière la caméra, n’hésite pas à relancer les protagonistes sur leurs expériences, et avec elle on entre dans toutes ces vulnérabilités qui semblent drôlement accessibles, peut-être du fait qu’elle les filme en toute simplicité: seule et sous forme de documentation de voyage.  

 

 

Gabrielle Ouimet
Directrice artistique de Tënk

 

 

 

 

 

Item 1 of 4
Item 1 of 4

Item 1 of 4